I’m in the exciting planning and admin la la of flights & accomm booking, emails out to folks, introductions from friends and allies to orgs and people in anticipation of my Churchill Fellowship travels to the USA in May/June.

I am particularly interested in meeting with social change arts and media organisations – with a focus on distribution and marketing of cultural products (film, theatre, apps etc) to create greatest impact and change.

Key orgs who are already on my list to spend some time with (fingers crossed it all lines up) are:

Smart Meme – I’m doing their advanced training in STORY based strategy in June; very excited!

Working Films – the distribution campaigns that they design are incredible – I really want to understand how to do this better to be able to apply to the Australian context

Witness I’ve admired their work for a long time and now Lizzie Gillett who produced Age of Stupid is working there as a ‘Catalyst’. Very keen to learn more.

Films that Change the World – Run by the ever inspiring Sandi Du Bowski FTCTW have long been on my list to visit since meeting Sandi at the Crossover lab in early 2009.

Skylight Pictures Make incredible films including The Reckoning (about the International Criminal Court) and Granito. These films very much create leverage for and are part of the movements in which they are made.

Big Noise Films Are long term activist filmmakers and recently completed Dirty Wars, which kicked ass at Sundance. Looking forward to seeing it.

Change.org An old friend and inspiration now works here in Communications and I plan to pick her brains tirelessly!

If there are any other organisations that you would recommend I get in touch with on this trip please let me know!

I’ll be doing my best to keep the blog updated on this trip.

